From England back to Stockholm and then off to Karlstad

We are back from our expat experience in England but somehow we aren´t. Because we didn´t return to where we left off. We skipped Stockholm. Turned our backs to her even though she had done nothing to deserve it. Are we out of our minds? The city we love. The city that we consider the most beautiful place in the world. Swap her against a much smaller and much less glamorous town. Why?

Well, to tell the truth, our relation-ship has changed since we got children. Things became more difficult between us and when Karlstad turned up we made up our minds, sold our apartment and moved. Moved to where the sun always shines, because that is what they say about Karlstad. So far we were not disappointed. During our two month here we have already had more sun than during our 18 month in England. But it is not only the weather that is attractive. There is much more to this town than one might think at first sight. Lots of nice little places to discover, a fantastic country side and very friendly people.  We felt welcome right from the start.

So, now lets just hope that life here continues as it has started and that our relation-ship with Karlstad and Värmland will be just as tight as it used to be with Stockholm. If things go well you might find me in 40 years, sitting in my rocking chair and with a nice glass of whisky at hand, reciting the ode to Värmland, which goes something like this:

Oh Värmland, you beautiful, you magnificent land
You crown jewel among Sweden’s provinces.
If ever I should reach the Promised Land
I would still return to my beloved Värmland.

For there I want to live, there I want to die
If one day I take me a bride*** from Värmland
I know it’s something I shall never regret.
For there I want to live, there I want to die
If one day I take me a bride from Värmland
I know it’s something I shall never regret.

And if I could sing, it might sound like this:

***this part I consider as done because I took a groom from Värmland. That should count, right?

This entry was posted in Värmland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From England back to Stockholm and then off to Karlstad

  1. Michael says:

    Yeah! Nane is back, totally redesigned and with a blog and post. Awesome! Looking forward to more updates from Värmland.
    But whiskey, lady? Brrr. However, even if a bit late:
    A fantastic start in Värmland!
    Vi hörs, Michael

    “För Kung och Land han strider, och hon skall bli hans lön,
    Ho kan honom då övervinna?”
    Da kann ja nix mehr passieren 😉

    • MamaN. says:

      Haha, merci beaucoup mon ami. 🙂 Just to answer in a language that you haven´t used in your note! Nice poem, might even recite once I sit in my rocking chair with a good glass of whiskey. 😉

  2. Meike says:

    Yay! Good luck on this new part of your journey. Karlstad sounds like a great place to visit some day ;-).

Leave a Reply

